Campaign automation and duplicates

Answered

Comments

5 comments

  • Official comment
    Avatar
    Carolynn Carriger

    Hi Maxine,

    Typically, you won't have the same contact/lead on your Marketing List twice at the same time. What can happen though is if you have a contact/lead get added to your Marketing List and start the Campaign Automation, then if they get added to the same Marketing List again, they would have a second participant in that same Campaign Automation. 

    The contact/lead would only show once on your Marketing List--in the scenario I described above--but you would see two different participant lines in the Participants tab.

    If you wanted a workaround to keep participants from going through the Campaign Automation twice, you would probably need to have a custom field on the contact/lead record and a workflow that checks for a Sent Email associated with that Campaign Automation--the workflow could update the custom field to show whether "yes this participant has gone through the CA" or "no this person has not." Then in your Campaign Automation, you could use a decision node to check on the value of that custom field--any participants who are shown as having gone through the CA before could just direct into a path that doesn't have any more actions in it.

    If you have further questions on this, please let us know. You may find it helpful to submit a ticket as well so we can speak with you more on this topic there.

    Thank you!

  • Official comment
    Avatar
    Veronica Kyle

    Hello, Maxine.

    It depends on where the Email Send step is placed in your Campaign Automation. If it is the Entry Point, it will de-duplicate from any attached Marketing Lists, as it is considered one bulk email. But if it is placed beyond that entry point, it is treated like multiple Email Sends, so it does not de-duplicate. So, for example, if the Entry Point is a Submitted Form and the same person submits the same form multiple times, they will go through the Campaign Automation again and again, meaning they may receive the same email multiple times. 

  • Avatar
    Ron Kemm

    Question: These two responses sound like they conflict with each other. Carolyn's response indicates that if you add the same contact at the start of the campaign to the same list, that participant will receive the emails again.

    Veronica's response indicates that won't happen at the Entry Point.

    Which is correct?

  • Avatar
    Rhys Saraceni

    Hello Ron

    For clarification, Carolynn and Veronica are describing two different scenarios. Carolynn is discussing adding a participant to a Campaign Automation through an Add To Marketing List action as the entry point. In this scenario, any emails sent to the participant would be sent through Send Email Actions, and these all send to participants as individuals rather than marketing lists, so no deduplication would occur.

    Veronica is describing the use of an Email Interaction Trigger as an entry point. When this trigger is used as an entry point, the Campaign Automation  starts off by sending a bulk Email Send to all of the listed recipients. Since this is a bulk Email, deduplication would occur at this point, but any subsequent emails sent later on in the Campaign Automation would be sent via the aforementioned Send Email Action, where deduplication would not occur since they are one-off emails.

    There is no way for a participant in the Campaign Automation to come in later and be part of that initial entry bulk Email Send since that fires off only once when the Automation is initially activated. Later-addition participants would have to be added through another entry option, such as an Add to Marketing List trigger, so the deduplication would not be relevant to them.

  • Avatar
    Mark Comber

    Hi Rhys, my understanding was that a contact could only be added to a marketing once; If the contact already exists on the marketing list, any attempt to add them again would fail. This would stop a contact from entering a campaign automation via this channel, until they were removed from the list. Is this not the case?

Please sign in to leave a comment.